'Support to Electoral Processes and Democracy - STEP Democracy'

How is the government in Myanmar formed?

26 January, 2021

(STEP Democracy)

Following the general elections on 8 November2020, Myanmar’s newly elected legislature, the third parliament formed under the 2008 Constitution will convene in  February. First, the two chambers, the Pyithu Hluttaw and the Amyotha Hluttaw must be constituted and its members – both elected and military-appointed – will be sworn in. A few days later, they will join to form the Pyidaungsu Hluttaw (Union Assembly) to elect the country’s new President.  

When the newly formed Hluttawmeets, the election of the speakers of both chambers will be the first order of business, followed by the formation of three electoral colleges for the election of the vice presidents. Subsequently, the joint session of the Union Hluttaw will elected the president from among the three vice-presidents. Once elected, the President will proceed with the appointments of new cabinet members. Thereafter, Chief Ministers for the States and Regions will be appointed by the President, and other institutions will be renewed, including the Union Election Commission (UEC) and the Constitutional Tribunal. In 2016, the State Counsellor was designated by law.

Myanmar’s constitutional hybrid system is unique in that it combines elements of both presidential and parliamentary systems, federal and unitary elements with a significant role reserved for the Defense Services as per the 2008 Constitution.

Find out more about how the government is formed in Myanmar and the new composition of the Union and State and Regional legislatures.

Please follow the link below to download the PDF versions of the infographics.